PR: 5 Nations BRX Vs Irish RX for Pembrey summer double-header

Pembrey Circuit in South Wales hosts rounds seven and eight of the 2023 Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship 5 Nations Trophy this weekend (August 19 – 20), where not only will each of the categories provide plenty of action, but the Irish Rallycross Championship also attends the event.
Changes have been made to the anti-clockwise layout at the Welsh venue to improve the racing, which will be used on Sunday, after the traditional clockwise route has been run on Saturday, significantly increasing the mixture of challenges for competitors this weekend.

What’s more, with Supercar points’ leader Patrick O’Donovan absent due to clashing commitments, it’s all to play for in the title hunt, where…

  • Former Super1600 champion Jack Thorne (Peugeot 208) targets his first victory of the season having been three times on the podium so far in 2023.
  • Six-time Supercar Champion Julian Godfrey (Citroen DS3) targets his second win of the campaign to close the gap to leader O’Donovan.
  • Tristan Ovenden (Citroen DS3) also plans to climb the standings with a strong points haul, while electric Mini Supercar racer Jake Harris has eyes on returning to the podium as he aims for a maiden 5 Nations BRX victory.
  • Former Champion Ollie O’Donovan remains with his successful Ford Focus as he aims for a repeat of his podium last time out at Lydden Hill, while four-time Champion Pat Doran (Citroen C4) makes a welcome return to the series, for the first time in almost three years.
  • 2021 champion Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta) leads a strong Irish contingent, all racing OlsbergsMSE-built Ford Fiestas, comprising of John McCluskey, Michael Leonard and Gary Donoghue.
  • A 12-strong line up of Junior racers make up the Motorsport UK Junior Rallycross Championship grid, with the standings led by Tyler McAlpin, just ahead of Will Ovenden, while Kenyan driver Amaan Ganatra makes his UK rallycross debut.
  • Former champions Dave Bellerby and Max Weatherly lead the single-specification BMW Mini and Swift Sport category entries, where both will face a strong challenge in categories that are brim full of door-to-door action.
  • British Rally Championship star James Willams returns to the RX150 Rallycross field alongside former Supernational Rallycross Champion Paige Bellerby.
  • Tony Lynch (Toyota MR2) and Lee Wood (Ford Escort) lead the Retro Rallycross Championship’s sub divisions as the history of the sport is celebrated on track with an eclectic mix of cars.
  • Former Junior RX Champion Max Langmaid leads the ALL4 BMW Mini category into a challenging weekend for the four-wheel-drive single-specification machines.
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!