The permanent competitors for the FIA 2018 FIA European Rallycross Championships has been revealed by the FIA.

The five-round Euro RX Supercar Championship will see 23 drivers of 12 nationalities battle for the title, led by reigning champion Anton Marklund, who will defend his 2017 title driving the Marklund Motorsport Volkswagen Polo.

Last year’s runner-up Thomas Bryntesson returns with his sights set on going one better in 2018, the Norwegian youngster, who won in France last year, driving an Olsbergs MSE-built Ford Fiesta for JC Raceteknik this season.

A proven race winner at World RX level, Latvian Reinis Nitiss will focus his attention on the Euro RX Championship driving a Ford Fiesta run by Set Promotion, while Hungarian “CSUCSU” is another to make the switch, the Speedy Motorsport driver in a VW Polo in round one but expected to debut his new Skoda Fabia in round two.

In all, seven manufacturers and nine different models will be represented in 2018, including two-time Euro RX champion Derek Tohill driving a Ford Fiesta ST, 2017 front runner Rene Munnich in the ALL-INKL.COM Munnich Motorsport SEAT Ibiza, Andros Trophy champion JB Dubourg in a G-FORS Renault Clio and multiple Swedish Champion Peter Hedstrom at the wheel of a VW Polo.

Kjetil Larsen (ex-Marklund VW Polo), Anders Braten and Philip Gehrman (Eklund Motorsport VW Beetles) join the Euro RX field from the TouringCar series, while Ulrik Linnemann steps up from Super1600 driving a VW Polo.

In the Super1600 Championship, 22 drivers will battle to succeed last year’s title winner Krisztian Szabo. Representing 11 nationalities and using 10 different models of car potential title contenders include last year’s runner-up Artis Baumanis and his team-mate Rokas Baciuska in Volland Racing’s much anticipated new Audi A1s. Estonian Janno Ligur (Skoda Fabia), Russian Timur Shigaboutdinov (Renault Twingo) and Czech Josef Susta (Skoda Fabia).

RX Academy winner Jesse Kallio (Finland) graduates to the FIA European Championship at the wheel of a Set Promotion Renault Twingo. Young Russian Marat Knyazev (Renault Twingo) also makes the step up having raced in the RX Academy last year. 

In its final year as an FIA Championship, TouringCar has nine full-time entrants, including stalwarts Per Magne Royras (Mazda RX8) and Camilla Antonsen (Audi A1) while Daniel Holten returns to racing in a Ford Fiesta.

The full European Rallycross Championship entry lists for Supercar, Super1600 and TouringCar can be viewed and downloaded HERE.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!